You can rent a Kikuyu but you can’t buy one: Waiguru’s words bite Ruto after BBI vote

Friday, May 7th, 2021 14:03 |
Governor Anne Waiguru
Governor Anne Waiguru. PHOTO/COURTESY
Governor Anne Waiguru

MPs unanimously passed the BBI bill in a widely anticipated vote that brought back to life Governor Anne Waiguru's famous words on how the Mt Kenya block vote.

Waiguru's statement targeted Mt Kenya MPs of the Tanga Tanga brigade allied to Deputy President William Ruto who were against the constitution amendment bill, 2021.

"You can only rent a Kikuyu but you can't buy one," Waiguru remarked after Mt Kenya Members of County Assembly (MCAs) harmoniously passed the BBI bill in February 2021.

Waiguru's famous phrase came to life on Thursday, May 6 after 235 MPs, among them those allied to DP Ruto passed the bill while 83 voted against it bringing the total number of legislators who voted to 320. 

Bahati MP Kimani Ngunjiri came under fire on Friday, May 7 after he voted to pass the bill. Ngunjiri who is an ardent supporter of Ruto however claimed that his support for the DP come 2022 was still intact.

In a statement to the press, Ngunjiri maintained that he voted in favor of the bill because he was looking at the needs of his constituents and not his personal ambition.

"I am still the chief campaigner of DP Ruto. Have you seen the DP himself say no to the BBI bill?" Ngunjiri paused in a rejoinder further adding that by voting for the bill, he was preparing the route to a Ruto Presidency.

"I communicated my decision to vote yes with the Deputy president and he had no objection. We have come a long way with Dr William Ruto and we have a long way to go. As for the MP's that voted No, I respect their decision. We are our peoples servants and we have to represent their views," Ngunjiri added.

Those who voted in support of the Bill included Majority Leader Amos Kimunya, Maina Kamanda, Babu Owino, Ayub Savula, Badi Twalib, Lilian Gogo and David ole Sankok, an ally of Deputy President William Ruto. 

Others were Zulekha Hassan, Irbae Buya, Hulufo Hassan, Ibrahim Ahmed, Injendi Malulu, Patrick Wainaina, Tom Kajwang, Peter Kaluma and Maina Kamanda, Kanini Kega, Alfred Keter, Ann Kibe, Muturi Kigano, Michael Kingi and Jeremiah Kioni. 

The naysayers included former Majority Leader Aden Duale, Beatrice Kones, Faith Gitau, Charles Gimose, Hassan Rehema and Kimani Ichung’wa.

Others were George Kariuki, Rehema Jaldesa, Aisha Jumwa, Johanna Ng’eno, Julias Melly, William Cheptumo, Joseph Tonui, Wilson Kogo and Nelson Koech, Beatrice Kones, Nixon Korir, Koros Kipsengeret, Henry Kosgei, Caleb Kositany, John Waluke, Dominic Koskei, Liza Chelule and Moses Lessonet. 

Deputy National Assembly Speaker Moses Cheboi abstained. Earlier, Kimunya had moved a procedural motion asking the House to extend the evening sitting until the debate on the Bill was concluded.

According to People Daily, several legislators who spoke on condition of anonymity said they received firm instructions from their party that disciplinary action would be taken against them should they fail to vote for the bill. 

More on News