Uhuru congratulates Ethiopian premier Abiy Ahmed for winning 2019 Nobel Peace Prize

Friday, October 11th, 2019 19:54 |
President Uhuru Kenyatta. Photo/Courtesy

President Uhuru Kenyatta on Friday sent a congratulatory message to Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed of Ethiopia for being awarded the 2019 Nobel Peace Prize.

Ahmed’s win was announced on Friday by Berit Reiss-Andersen, chair of the Norwegian Nobel Committee.

“The Norwegian Nobel Committee has decided to award the Nobel Peace Prize for 2019 to Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed Ali,” read a statement from the Academy.

The Ethiopian leader was recognised for his efforts towards the achievement of peace and international cooperation, and for his leading role in the resolution of the long-standing border conflict with neighbouring Eritrea.

In his congratulatory message, Uhuru said Ahmed deserves the international recognition, adding that the Ethiopian leader is outstanding in his pursuit for peace, reconciliation and stability in Ethiopia, the Horn of Africa region and the entire continent.

"I am delighted for my brother Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed and the people of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia for the 2019 Nobel Peace Prize Award. Prime Minister Ahmed fully deserves the recognition,” said Uhuru.

"Prime Minister Ahmed stands out as a relentless champion for peace, stability and prosperity of his country, our region and the entire African continent," he added.

The prize, worth approximately Sh93million, will be presented in Oslo on December 10.

Ahmed becomes the 24th African to win the prestigious award and joins a growing Nobel Laureates roll of honour that includes Kenyan environmentalist  the late Prof.  Wangari Maathai (2004), former Liberian President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf and Leymah Gbowee (2011), Egypt's Mohamed El Baradei (2005), former UN Secretary General, the late Koffi Annan (2001), former South African Presidents Nelson Mandela and fredrick de Klerk, retired South African Anglican archbishop Desmond Tutu and the founding president of South Africa's Africaan National Congress (ANC) political party and anti-apartheid crusader Albert Luthuli.

Dr. Dennis Mukwege of the Democratic Republic of Congo won the Nobel Peace Prize last year for his efforts to end the use of sexual violence as a weapon of war and armed conflict.

More on National