State slashes devolved units allocations to Sh316.5 billion

Friday, February 14th, 2020 00:00 |
Central Bank of Kenya. Photo/PD/File

Zachary Ochuodho @zachuodho

Nairobi, Kilifi, Turkana, Kakamega, Mandera and Nakuru will receive large equitable shares from Treasury in the 2020/21 financial year.

Out of the Sh316.5 billion equitable share, Nairobi will receive five per cent, Kilifi 3.35 per cent, Kakamega 3.34 per cent, Turkana 3.34 per cent, Mandera 3.23 per cent and Nakuru 3.08 per cent.

According to the Budget Policy Statement forwarded to Parliament for discussion yesterday, devolved units will receive less allocations as compared to current allocation.

Counties which will receive the least amount of equitable shares include Lamu at Sh2.595 billion, Elgeyo Marakwet at Sh3.9 billion, Samburu at Sh5.424 billion and Tharaka Nithi which will walk away with Sh1.22 billion.

Maternal healthcare

Free maternal healthcare and special purpose grant (Emergency med Service) have not been allocated anything, while leasing of medical equipment bagged Sh6.2 billion, compensation for user fees forgone stood at Sh900 million while level five hospitals will pocket Sh4.3 billion.

Other allocations to the counties include supplementary for construction of country headquarters capped at Sh300 million, rehabilitation of village polytechnics at Sh2 billion, allocations of fuel Levy Fund (15 per cent of collections) at Sh9.433 billion and allocations from loans and grants of Sh30.2 billion.

More on News