Stage set for Oguso Cup in Emuhaya Sub-County

Thursday, December 2nd, 2021 07:44 |
Football legend Evans Kadenge (second right) greats players during last year’s Oguso Cup finals. PHOTO/PD/ EDWIN OTIENO

Residents of Vihiga County are in for a treat in the upcoming festivities in the form of the annual Oguso inter-Sub Counties Super Cup.
Emuhaya will be the first sub county out of six that are in the fray to hold the first final on December 4 between Golden FC and Rubani FC at Ebunangwe Complex.

Three of the sub counties including Luanda, Hamisi and Sabatia will host theirs at a date to be confirmed later ahead of the Grande-Finale in Vihiga on December 27.

The founder of the tournament which has been in existence for the last 13 years is Kenyan Premier League side Kenya Police FC CEO, Chief Police Inspector Chris Oguso.

A former player of the defunct Scarlet FC of Lanet Barracks in Nakuru and which gave birth to current Kenyan Premier League side Ulinzi Stars, Ogusu said he formed the tournament ostensibly to give back to the community.

“This is a worthwhile venture that has been embraced by the community in Vihiga. Among the core objectives is to enlighten locals on community policing as well as peaceful co-existence among them in the region,’’ explained Oguso.

He also pointed out that Vihiga was teeming with immense  football talent and this was yet another reason to jumpstart the tournament.

“I was steadfast to ensure that football talent were nurtured through a n event to give players a platform to showcase their abilities in national and international events,” said Oguso while revealing that sports betting form Betika may come in as partners in this year’s event.

He also said the parameters also entailed empowering players to start small scale businesses with the bonus money from the championships and especially given that most of them are jobless.

Every year during the Oguso Cup, coaching and referee clinics are held for international footballers to help them to eke out a living from their careers.
Last year, the tournament attracted a total of 60 teams-48 men’s and 12 women’s.

More on Sports