Shujaa ready to rumble in Dubai Sevens

Tuesday, November 23rd, 2021 11:46 |
Shujaa in action against Germany during the Safaricom Sevens finals on Sunday. Photo/PD/ALEX NJUE

Kenya's rugby national team Shujaa departed for Dubai on Sunday evening ahead of their Dubai Sevens challenge this weekend.

Shujaa, have been drawn against Mike Friday’s USA in Group B of the 2021/22 World Sevens Series season opening leg in Dubai, UAE on November 26-27.

The Innocent Simiyu coached side will also play Argentina and Spain and will kick off their quest for a silverware against the USA at 9.16am before tackling Argentina at 1.30pm and Spain at 4.02pm the same day.

Kabras RFC utility Kevin Wekesa and Mwamba RFC scrum-half Tony Omondi are set for their Sevens World Series debuts after being named n the travelling squad.

Speaking about the debutants, Shujaa head coach Innocent Simiyu said, “Wekesa has a lot of potential, we indeed view him as the next Andrew Amonde. Omondi was in line for his debut in Vancouver until a concussion ruled him out.”

“Anya played well during the pre-season Safari 7s, and apart from his pace and ball carrying ability, brings another dimension in the air.”

The opening two rounds of the 2021/22 season in Dubai will also see Edmund Anya make a return to the squad for the first time since the 2018/19 season.

Nakuru RFC speedy winger Nelson Oyoo will captain the side that also includes the likes of KCB RFC duo of Alvin Otieno, Johnstone Olindi and Kenya Harlequins forward Herman Humwa in its ranks.

However, Simiyu will miss the services of notable faces legendary Collins Injera and Willy Ambaka who will not feature in the Dubai series leg.

Commenting on the squad selection, Simiyu, a former Shujaa captain, said his aim was to improve on the team execution in the quest to attain the set targets.

"We are looking at how to improve on our team execution in the quest to attain our set targets,” Simiyu said.

Kenya finished third overall in the abridged 2021 Sevens World Series in Canada, reaching the cup final in Vancouver sevens where they lost 38-5 to South Africa before winning a bronze medal at the second leg in Edmonton.

The HSBC sevens series core teams consists of 16 men teams which are Argentina, Australia, Canada, England, Fiji, France, Ireland, Japan, Kenya, New Zealand, Samoa, Scotland, South Africa, Spain, USA and Wales.

Shujaa Squad to Dubai:

Nelson Oyoo (Nakuru, captain), Herman Humwa (Kenya Harlequin), Alvin Otieno (KCB), Johnstone Olindi (KCB), Levi Amunga (KCB), Billy Odhiambo (Mwamba), Daniel Taabu (Mwamba), Tony Omondi (Mwamba), Bush Mwale (Homeboyz), Jeff Oluoch (Homeboyz), Alvin Marube (Impala Saracens), Edmund Anya (Impala Saracens), Timothy Mmasi (Masinde Muliro), Kevin Wekesa (Kabras Sugar)

More on Sports