Senators take on governors over incessant border feuds

Tuesday, December 1st, 2020 00:00 |
Former Council of Governors chairman Wycliffe Oparanya. Photo/PD/VIOLA KOSOME

Senators have accused governors of engaging in an ‘overdrive’ to instigate inter-county boundary disputes in a bid to expand their territories ahead of the 2022 General Elections.

In what they termed as excitement to reawaken their political careers, the lawmakers claim, for the past six months, at least 14 county bosses have become “expansionist champions” in sponsoring ethnic and boundary disputes.

This issue of boundaries conflicts, which have been reported in at least 14 counties, the legislators, claimed, has affected how counties collect their own-source revenue.

For instance, the legislators cited, a Maseno town boundary dispute between Vihiga and Kisumu counties, Makueni and Taita Taveta row over Mtito Andei town.

If not checked, the expansionist theories by county bosses, the politicians held will cause a lot of problems owing to the fact that land matters are emotive especially during elections.

Numerous petitions

The senator’s spoke following numerous petitions that have been filed to the House by residents of various counties seeking the senate’s intervention resolve the conflicts.

“If we study very clearly about issues to do with Post-Election Violence (PEV), it has always been triggered by disputes on election matters, but the underlying issues are always to do with land.

We need to handle this issue on land before 2022 elections,” Bomet Senator Christopher Langat said.

“It is a high time that the NLC and the Ministry of Lands is involved to resolve this boundary dispute between counties.

This issue of boundary dispute if not well addressed it might spiral into something that we do not want to imagine,” Nandi’s Samson Cherargei warned.

Among those fingered as notorious include Prof Anyang’ Nyong’o (Kisumu), Mohammed Abdi (Wajir), Ali Korane (Garissa), Moses Lenookulal (Samburu), Kiraitu Murungi (Meru) Mohammed Kuti (Isiolo), Nderitu Muriithi (Laikipia) and Granton Samboja (Taita Taveta).

More on News