Ruaraka Sports Club clinch Star Field third edition crown

Tuesday, August 27th, 2019 12:00 |
Ruaraka Sports Club display their trophy after winning the third edition of the Star Field Youth Cricket Championship at the weekend. Photo/PD/BARRY SILAH

Ruaraka Sports Club won the third edition of the Star Field Youth Cricket Championship following a 40-run victory over Sikh Union at the weekend.  

Jasraj Kundi of Ruaraka was the tournament’s Most Valuable Player in the Under 19 category. Kundi and Vaibhav Patil both secured half-centuries in the final with the former having been named the highest wicket-taker and run-scorer at the close of the four-day event. 

Ruaraka, therefore, wrestled the title from Uganda Under-19, who were eliminated at the semi-finals.  In the Under-15 category, Swamibapa won by a mammoth eight wickets and had Pranit Gandhi as the Most Valuable Player in the finals against Nakuru Pirates while in the Under-13 category, Ewan Van Niekirk of Buzz Pro scored 55 runs in the final against Star Field A and 264 in the entire tournament to catch the eye of many with his captivating and confident display on the crease.

In the Under-11 category, Neel Doshi of Star Field scored half a century in the final against Oshwal Academy while he collectively picked six wickets to underscore his mettle as a future all-rounded star. 

The Under 9 and 11 MVPs won a one-year scholarship at the Star Field Academy where they will undergo high-performance training from the Gary Kirsten Academy.

More on Cricket