Road now clear for Football Kenya Federation elections

Wednesday, January 29th, 2020 00:00 |
FKF President Nick Mwendwa takes a selfie with some of the delegates after the conclusion of the federation’s Special General Meeting at a Nairobi Hotel yesterday. Photo/PD/RODGERS NDEGWA

Seventy-two delegates out of 80 have unanimously voted for the amended Football Kenya Federation (FKF) Electoral Code and the new Election Board to pave way for a repeat exercise penciled for March.

Conspicuously missing during the federation’s Special General Meeting (SGM) held at Safari Park Hotel yesterday were Kenya Football Coaches Association (KEFOCA), Kenya Football Referees Association (KEFORA) and Kenya Footballers Welfare Association (KEFOCA).

The two senior clubs in the country, Gor Mahia and AFC Leopards abstained from voting for or against the adoption of the Electoral Board and Code for unknown reasons.

During the SGM, 48 FKF branches sent representatives, so were Kenyan Premier League (KPL), National Super League (NSL), Division One and FKF Women Premiere League.

In his speech at the meeting, FKF president Nick Mwendwa said the majority vote was a manifestation of the confidence the delegates had in the federation ahead of the polls.

“We have complied with the directive by the Sports Disputes Tribunal as pertains certain flaws in the first election which it annulled.

I hope that there will be no longer litigations against FKF which will hinder the upcoming process which I expect to be free and fair,’’ said Mwendwa.

He added: “I’m ready to face any candidate for the top seat and if I’m defeated, I will be philosophical enough to accept the result for other persons to take over the football leadership in the country.’’

Mwendwa said only clubs that have been active for the last three years will be eligible to vote.

“We don’t want a situation where dormant clubs will come and cast their votes and further, the exercise will start from branches and this arrangement has been endorsed by Fifa.

I also want to say that 85 sub branches have embraced the adoption of the electoral code,’’ said Mwendwa.

The members of the electoral board meet on Monday to elect their chairman and they include Kenya Table Tennis Association chairman Andrew Mudibo, former Fifa referee Alfred Ndinya, journalist Ali Hassan Kauleni, Patrick Onyango, Kentice Tikolo, Samuel Karanja, Rachael Muthoga and Elaine Mbugua. 

Meanwhile, Mwendwa will be in a delegation to Zurich, Switzerland, tomorrow to discuss with Fifa the SGM outcome and the elections.

More on News