Relations agency targets State, counties’ incessant squabbles

Tuesday, July 7th, 2020 00:00 |
Intergovernmental Relations Technical Committee CEO Peter Leley addresses the press. Photo/PD/FILE

Newly appointed members of the Intergovernmental Relations Technical Committee (IGRTC) took office yesterday with a promise to revamp the body and foster rapport between national and county governments. 

The two levels of government have been in constant friction over devolved functions and resources.

President Uhuru Kenyatta appointed the new technical committee for a six-year non-renewable term through Gazette Notice No. 4234 of June 19, following the expiry of the term of a team led by former Permanent Secretary Karega Mutahi, which had been extended by six months to enable the recruitment.

The fresh team is composed of Angeline Hongo, Dr Perminus Ndimitu, Linet Mosa Mavu, Alfred Khang’ati, John Burugu, Alice Mayaka, Saadia Abdi Kontoma and Wilson ole Pere.  

It was identified by a select committee co-chaired by Kisii Governor James Ongwae, who is the chair of Human Resource at Council of Governors and Antony Gatumbu from the Office of the President while Kericho Governor Prof Paul Chepkwony and Devolution Principal Secretary Charles Sunkuli co-assisted.

Major issues 

Committee Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Peter Leley will also be the secretary. However, it shall also have an interim chairman appointed from among them to facilitate transactiinn of its business.

Amomg the key issues in the team’s in-tray is the operationalisation of Legislation for Economic Blocs, establishment of Alternative Dispute Resolutions and Strengthening the Workings of Sectoral Committees.

The team shall oversee the implementation and co-ordination of the resolutions agreed upon by the President and the Council of Governors about the full re-opening of the economy, which has been hampered by the Covid-19 pandemic.

According Leley, after an intensive induction, the team will tackle 10 dispute resolutions cases, which are almost at the tail end and complete the asset register of the defunct local authorities.  

“Besides ensuring legislation of the newly formed economic blocks, we already have about 10 disputes between the national and county governments; among them the dispute between Nairobi County and the Ministry of Defence, Tharaka Nithi and the Ministry of Interior and also Taita Taveta and the Ministry of Tourism among others,” said Leley.

More on National