President Uhuru appoints five TSC commissioners

Thursday, September 2nd, 2021 10:56 |
Uhuru appoints IEBC panelist to replace Daisy Jemator
President Uhuru Kenyatta:PHOTO/File

President Uhuru Kenyatta has appointed five new commissioners to the Teachers Service Commission after they were approved by the Parliament.

The five, who were approved by the National Assembly Education and Research committee on Wednesday, September 1, include Nicodemus Ojuma, Christine Kahindi, Sharon Jelagat, Annceta Wafukho and Salesa Adano.

President Uhuru gazetted their appointment on the same day after the education committee forwarded their names to him.

The five will fill positions vacated by Beatrice Adu, Mbarak Twahir, Kinoti Imanyara, Tache Gallo and Albert Ekirapa whose term ended on March 19 after they were appointed in 2015.

Their exit left vacancies in Rift Valley, Western, Nairobi, Eastern and Coast since Central and North Eastern already had representatives.

The commission now becomes fully constituted with Jamleck Muturi having been appointed in 2020 to replace Lydia Nzomo as the Commission's chair.

President Uhuru also appointed Timon Alfred Otieno Oyucho to represent the Nyanza region in the same year.

The Teachers Service Commission Act 2012 stipulates that the commissioner shall serve for a fixed 6-year term.

Chief Justice Martha Koome will swear in the new appointees.

More on News