Panel to solve impasse hits headwinds

Tuesday, August 25th, 2020 09:00 |
Nairobi Senator Johnson Sakaja

A 12-member committee established by the Senate to unlock the contentious third basis for revenue-sharing formula deadlock has run into trouble as they seek to resolve the issue.

The team co-chaired by Bungoma Senator Moses Wetangula and Nairobi Senator Johnson Sakaja, which has been burning the midnight oil is yet to strike a balance on the issues that have split the House over the last two months.

Yesterday, the committee was holed up in a series of meeting in a bid to come up with an agreeable formula which will appease both divides of the House.

This even as the National Treasury is said to have gone “mute” on the committee’s proposal for extra Sh9 billion from the exchequer which is supposed to cushion at least 19 counties which are losing in the committee formula.

A source privy to the happenings at the committee told People Daily that CS Ukur Yatani had agreed to the senators’ proposal in their meeting on Friday to yield Sh9 billion so as to unlock the stalemate.

“The CS had promised us (senators) to come today (Monday) so that we proceed with the negotiations, because every camp has maintained its stance, no one is yielding,” the source said, adding that senators whose counties were gaining like Susan Kihika (Nakuru) and Samson Cherargei (Nandi) and Moses Kajwang (Homa Bay) have been emboldened by President Uhuru Kenyatta’s stance on Friday.

More on News