Outstanding performers in second tier league to be recognised today

Wednesday, September 15th, 2021 00:00 |
FC Talanta players celebrate after winning this season’s Betika National League. Photo/PD/DAVID NDOLO

It is all systems go as Football Kenya Federation (FKF) and National Super League sponsors Betika get ready to award top performers in today’s NSL Gala Awards at Serena Hotel, starting at noon.

On Monday, FKF released a final list of nominees selected by a five-member panel where 14 players, five teams, three coaches, three referees and three assistant referees will battle it out in the 11 categories earmarked for awards.

The nominees will battle it out in awards for the Most Valuable Player, Golden Glove (Best Goalkeeper), Defender of the Year, Midfielder of the Year, Golden Boot (Best Forward), Young Player of the Year (Most Promising Player), Coach of the Year, Fair Play Award (Team), Team of the Year, Centre Referee of the Year, and Assistant Referee of the Year, while FKF president Nick Mwendwa is set to award the most outstanding organisation in using sports as a tool for community development, in the President’s Award category.

Attacking midfielder Anthony Gicho who has been with FC Talanta for almost seven years after joining them from Bidco United in 2014 and finally helping them to win the 2020/2021 NSL title and earn promotion to FKF Premier League, is in contention for the MVP award as well as Midfielder of the Year.

The other two players in the MVP shortlist include Mwatate United goal poacher Cornelius Juma, who is also in contention for the Golden Boot Award, as well as Vihiga Bullets’ no-nonsense defender Portipher Odhiambo, who is also in contention for the Defender of the Year Award.

 Besides the three, the only other player shortlisted for two awards is Shabana FC’s youngster Brian Michira who is in contention for both Midfielder of the Year and Young Player of the Year (Most Promising Player) awards.

Michira will battle it out with Antony Gicho (FC Talanta) and Bonface Kweyu (Vihiga Bullets) in the Midfielder of the Year Award, while in the Young Player of the Year (Most Promising Player).

More on News