Only two FKF positions to be contested

Friday, October 25th, 2019 05:35 |
Current FKF NEC member for Western Tony Kweya (right) shares a light moment with his opponent Andrew Wamukoya when they met at the Electoral Board on Tuesday. PD/ WEBSTER NYANDIKA

Football Kenya Federation (FKF) national elections on December 7, may turn-out to be an exercise to seek representation for only two positions, after officials eyeing the other national seats went un opposed following Wednesday’s deadline for aspirants to return nomination papers.

Only the positions of National Executive Committee (NEC) member for Western and Women Representative in the executive will be contested at the national level.

For the Western NEC position two aspirants, the incumbent Tony Kweya and former branch chairman Andrew Wamukoya have entered the race, while the women representative post has attracted three candidates, Kerubo Momanyi, Margaret Omondi and Gor Mahia treasurer Sally Bollo.

“The new FKF Constitution, passed at the 2017 Annual General Meeting, provides for an elective Woman Representative seat in the National Executive Committee,” said Prof Edwin Wamukoya.

“We have so far received nomination papers from three candidates, who we will be clearing to vie for the position,” he added.

Other national positions from the president to the other eight NEC positions, have seen the aspirants go unopposed.

Federation president Nick Mwendwa is destined for a second term after to opponent showed up to present papers before the deadline.

In Nairobi, out going Nairobi East Branch chairman Michael Ouma is unopposed as he seek to replace Chris Amimo who was not keen of defending his position, while Eastern NEC member Muriithi Nabea is poised for a second term after failing to get an opponent.

In Coast, former South Coast branch chairman Gabriel Mgendi is unopposed for the executive position after the outgoing NEC boss Raphael Mwalungo failed to defend his seat.

In Central, David Njoroge reached an agreement with ‘Team Blue’ to step down for out going Aberdare branch chairman David Chege, leaving him unopposed, while Joseph Andere earns his second term as the NEC member of Nyanza without a challenge and Ahmad ‘Kaddo’ Dabar replaces Mohammed Mulah as the North Eastern representative before reaching the ballot.

Newly formed regions, Lower Rift Valley and Upper Rift Valley also have unopposed representatives in David Bunei and Bernard Langat respectively. Bunei is the outgoing South Rift branch chairman, while Langat is the outgoing North Rift branch chairman.

Lower Rift Valley will cover seven counties Narok, Kajiado, Bomet, Kericho, Baringo, Nakuru and Laikipia, while North Rift will cover eight counties, Nandi, Uasin Gishu, Elgeyo Marakwet, Trans Nzoia, West Pokot, Turkana and Samburu.

More on Football