Oloo names squad as Lionesses head to South Africa

Monday, August 9th, 2021 17:12 |

Kenya sevens veteran Captain and KCB RFC forward Philadelphia Olando will be among eight players named to represent the national team in the scheduled test rugby game against South Africa ladies team.

Olando fresh from representing the country at the Olympics as the Captain of the Kenya Sevens women’s national team is expected to bring in his experience in the longer version of the game.

The scheduled fixtures are set to be held on 12th and 16th August at the Stellenbosch Academy of Sport in Cape Town.

Lionesses will however miss the services of Emmaculate Awuor and Janet Kerubo as the two sustained injuries during the Rugby Africa Women’s Cup last month.

The Felix Oloo coached side departs for South Africa tomorrow and will be boosted by the inclusion of eight players who featured at the just concluded Olympic Games for the two-test series against the Women Boks.

While naming the travelling Oloo will keep in mind how crucial the two test games will play out ahead of the Colombia repechage game given the Women Boks are currently the best women’s 15s rugby team in Africa.

The Lionesses lost 39-0 to South Africa the last time the two teams met during the 2019 Africa Cup-qualifiers which doubled up as the World Cup qualifying tournament. South Africa going on to secure the sole ticket for the global event.

Kenya on the other hand went on to qualify for the repechage against Colombia with the winner of the Kenya-Colombia clash set to play second-placed teams from Europe, Asia, and Oceania qualifying events for a place at the World Cup to be held in 2022 in New Zealand.

Under the watchful eye of Oloo and Mitch Ocholla the lionesses are preparing for their Rugby World Cup qualifier against Columbia on 25 August and will be hoping the test games will help prepare another African team to qualify to travel to New Zealand next year for the global event.

Lionesses Squad to South Africa:

Mercy Migongo (Homeboyz RFC), Priscah Nyerere(Impala Saracens), Stacy Atieno(Mwamba RFC), Ann Gorety(Impala Saracens), Linet Moraa(Homeboyz RFC), Sophia Ayieta(Homeboyz RFC), Philadelphia Orlando(Northern Suburbs), Sheila Chajira(Homeboyz RFC), Diana Kemunto(Impala Saracens), Laurine Akoth(Top Fry Nakuru), Peruce Muyuka(Northern Suburbs), Bernadette Olesia(Northern Suburbs), Cynthia Camilla(Homeboyz RFC), Leah Wambui(Homeboyz RFC), Judith Auma(Impala Saracens), Faith Marindany(Northern Suburbs), Evelyne Kalemera(Mwamba RFC), Everlyne Akinyi(Mwamba RFC), Joy Kendagor(Northern Suburbs), Naomi Amuguni(Mwamba RFC), Winnie Owino(Impala Saracens), Knight Otwoma(Impala Saracens), Grace Adhiambo(Top Fry Nakuru), Janet Okello(Mwamba RFC), Rose Otieno(Northern Suburbs), Dorcas Mokaya(Homeboyz RFC), Mitchelle Akinyi(Impala Saracens), Christabel Lindo), Juliet Nyambura(Northern Suburbs), Ann Njeri(Impala Saracens).

More on Sports