New MCK Complaints Commission members sworn in

Wednesday, November 4th, 2020 00:00 |
Media Council of Kenya Complaints Commission chair William Oketch takes oath of office before High Court judge Said Chitembwe at the Supreme Court yesterday. Photo/PD/Charles Mathai

Newly appointed members of the Media Council of Kenya Complaints Commission has been sworn-in.

The seven member team was appointed by the ICT Cabinet Secretary Joe Mucheru via Gazette October 14 and sworn-in at the Supreme Court in Nairobi by Justice Said Chitembwe yesterday.

They consist of  a new-look team picked by the CS from a pool of legal experts recommended by MCK

The commission will be chaired by William Oketch with Henry Maina, Nancy Booker, Demus Kiprono. Esther Aduma, Lempaa Suyianka  and Polly  Waweru.

The Complaints Commission is established under section 27 of the Media Council Act 2013.

Its core function is to mediate or adjudicate in disputes between the government and the media, the public and the media and intra-media on ethical issues.

It also seeks to  ensure the adherence of high standards of journalism as provided for in the code of conduct for the practice of journalism in Kenya and achieve impartial, speedy and cost-effective settlement of complaints against journalists and media enterprises, without fear of favour.

More on News