New dawn for UASU as Kisii University don takes over from Muga K’olale

Tuesday, July 6th, 2021 17:39 |
Uasu officials and Egerton university staff sing solidarity song at the institution’s main campus in Njoro, Nakuru county. Photo/PD/Raphael Munge

Kisii University law lecturer Grace Nyongesa has been elected to chair the University Academic Staff Union (UASU).

Nyongesa beat Muga Rugara of Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology (JKUAT) by 248 votes to replace long serving chair, Professor Muga K'Olale who resigned last week.

K'Olale stepped down from office on Thursday, July 1 after some officials from Egerton University's UASU chapter moved to court contesting his candidacy.

According to UASU’s by laws, for one to contest for a national position, the candidate must either be elected in the chapter elections or be co-opted by the incumbent elected in a chapter election.

In the recent elections, the dons retained Dr Constatine Wesonga as secretary-general who squared it out with Kubasu Kwashe of Masinde Muliro University. 

Cyprian Ombati of Kabianga University was elected the National Vice Chairperson while Jacob Musembi from Technical University of Kenya was elected National Deputy Secretary General. 

UASU elected Dr Janepha Kumba of Egerton University as its treasurer while Weldon Keter of Murang'a University was picked as National Assistant Treasurer. 

On the other hand, Onesmus Maluki Mutio of Multimedia University was elected as National Organising Secretary.

While congratulating Nyongesa, Bungoma Senator Moses Wetangula said: “You were not elected because you are a woman but because you are capable to lead this giant intellectually driven union. I wish you phenomenal success”.

More on News