New Bomet governor retains all Laboso’s executives

Friday, August 16th, 2019 00:00 |
New Bomet Governor Hillary Barchok takes oath of office at Bomet Green Stadium. Photo/DPPS

New Bomet Governor Hillary Barchok has retained all executive members who served under his predecessor, the late Joyce Laboso.

The governor yesterday submitted names of the 10 CECs to the  County Assembly for reappointment in their respective current dockets.

The move is a reprieve for the CECs and other senior county officials, who were eagerly waiting for Barchok’s next move after his swearing-in last week. Bartok had vowed to fulfil Laboso’s vision.

Special sitting

Following the appointments, the County Assembly has now convened a special sitting next  Wednesday to debate the list. The MCAs are still on recess until September 1. The sittings were adjourned three weeks ago following  Laboso’s death.

“Each will be judged based on their individual performance and conduct,” said an MCA who sought anonymity.  

The CECs are Bernard Ngeno (Youth, Gender and Sports), Benson Sang (Water), Daisy Rono (Lands), Justus Maina (ICT and Public Service), Andrew Sigei (Finance), Justus Tuei (Agriculture), Joseph Sitonik (Medical Services and Public Health), Juliana Yegon (Education), Philip Sowek (Roads and Transport) and Julia Chepkuto (Trade and Tourism).

Barchok is amid pressure to pick a woman to deputise him in honour of Laboso, whom he succeeded after she succumbed to cancer.

More on National