Nasa to hold meeting billed to kick out coalition rebels

Thursday, May 28th, 2020 00:00 |
Minority Whip, Junet Mohammed. PHOTO/COURTESY

Emeka-Mayaka Gekara

The National Super Alliance (Nasa) will today hold a parliamentary group meeting that could see MPs perceived to be rebels kicked out from key leadership positions and committees.

Their gathering follows a similar clean-up in the governing Jubilee coalition that saw politicians allied to Deputy President William Ruto removed from critical positions in the Senate. 

Nasa coalition is composed of former Prime Minister Raila Odinga’s Orange Democratic Movement, Amani National Congress of former Deputy Prime Minister Musalia Mudavadi, Wiper Democratic Movement led by former Vice-President Kalonzo Musyoka and Ford Kenya headed by Bungoma Senator Moses Wetang’ula.

“Nasa coalition to hold National Assembly Parliamentary Group meeting tomorrow the invitation of which has been duly sent to all MPs in the Minority,” announced Minority Whip Junet Mohammed.

“It will involve all parties under the Nasa coalition.  We will discuss parliamentary leadership and membership of committees,”  he said.

Coalition values

“We will take thorough disciplinary action against those who do not subscribe to the values ideals of the Nasa coalition, and decided to advance the interest of other political parties. We want to give them space to go and do what they want to do,” he added.

The list provided revealed that the casualties will be politicians supporting Ruto’s political activities. According to Junet, they will be de-whipped for six months.

Those earmarked for removal include Deputy Minority Whip and Kimilili MP Chris Wamalwa who is associated with the Ruto camp as well as Sylvanus Osoro of South Mugirango from the Agriculture committee. 

ODM rebel and Malindi MP Aisha Jumwa will be shown the door from all committees including the Parliamentary Service Commission. Others are Bungoma Woman Rep Catherine Wambilyanga from the Labour committee, Turkana Central MP Nakala Lodepe( Defence and Foreign Relations) while Vincent Kemosi (West Mugirango) will be removed from the Transport committee.

David Ochieng of Ugenya will be ejected from the Health committee while Butere’s Tindi Mwale (Energy) while Gideon Ochanda of Bondo will be transferred from the Budget committee to another team to be decided at the PG.

“As the whip, I’ve done loyalty tests and the results are negative. All those affected will be quarantined for at least six months. The time is up for the excess baggage in our midst,” noted Junet.

But Ochieng protested the decision, which he described as “misguided” saying he was not a member of the Nasa coalition.

“Our party, the Movement for Democracy and Growth (MDG) has never joined the Nasa coalition neither do we caucus with it in the Assembly.

As such, there is no basis in law or fact for Nasa to associate my membership to Parliament with the coalition,” he said.

“You cannot discipline those who are not your members,” he added.

Contacted yesterday, Mudavadi told People Daily that his party members will attend the PG.

“It is a Nasa PG to discuss the composition of Parliamentary committees.  We have written to the Speaker and the Minority Whip Junet Mohammed on the names we want included in the group,” he said.

On its part, ANC has proposed Vihiga Woman Rep Beatrice Adagala for Justice and Legal affairs committee,  Lugari MP Ayub Savula (Transport and Constitution Implementation Oversight Committee,  Sakwa Bunyasi (Nambale) for Budget and Khwisero MP Christopher Aseka for the Water and Natural resources team.

More on National