Nairobi biggest gainer in new revenue sharing formula

Friday, May 7th, 2021 00:00 |

Nairobi, Nakuru, Turkana, Kiambu and Kilifi counties will get the lion’s share of the Sh370 billion allocated to all the 47 devolved units in 2021/22 Financial Year.

Nairobi gets Sh19.24 billion up from Sh15.91 billion, Nakuru Sh13.02 billion compared to 10.47 billion it was allocated the year before while Turkana will get Sh12.60 million against 10.53 it got in 2020/21.§

Kiambu and Turkana will get Sh11.71 billion and Sh11.64 billion compared to Sh9.43 billion and Sh10.44 billion they received in the current financial year.

The allocations are contained in the County Allocation of Revenue Bill, 2021 which was tabled in the Senate for first reading on Tuesday by House Budget and Finance committee chairman Charles Kibiru (Kirinyaga).

The proposed law divides among the 47 devolved units the Sh370 billion allocated to them in the Division of Revenue Act, 2021.

According to the Bill, Lamu, Tharaka Nithi, Elgeyo Marakwet, Vihiga and Nyamira will get the least allocation though with marginal increases compared to their allocations in the current financial year.

Lamu has been allocated Sh3.10 billion against Sh2.59 million it received this year, Tharaka Nithi will get Sh4.21 billion up from Sh3.92 billion and Elgeyo Marakwet gets Sh4.60 million compared to Sh3.86 million the 2020/21 Financial Year.

Vihiga and Nyamira will get Sh5.06 billion and Sh5.13 million up from Sh4.65 billion and Sh4.81 billion respectively if Parliament approves the Bill.

The allocations are based on the Third Basis for revenue allocation passed by Parliament last year after months of standoff in the Senate. Senators from counties that were bound to lose revenue in then proposed formula had put up a spirited fight against the law.

It took President Uhuru Kenyatta’s pledge of an additional Sh53.5 billion to the counties to ensure no county lost money.

More on News