More than 100 officers transferred in major reshuffle

Thursday, January 16th, 2020 00:00 |
President Uhuru Kenyatta

The Kenya Police Service has made changes in the command of sub counties in the country. Several sub country commanders were  transferred with a host of others promoted. 

More than 100 officers have been affected in transfers and promotions in the Kenya Police Service.

The changes were announced by the Deputy Inspector General (DIG) in charge of the Kenya Police Service Edward Mbugua.

The SCPCs (initially known as OCPDs), mostly in the ranks of Senior Superintendent of Police, SSPs and Superintendent of Police, SPs, were either moved to different sub counties or promoted.

Also affected are nine Assistant Superintendents of Police (ASPs) - two of whom are female- who were promoted to serve as deputies to SCPCs.

“The Deputy Inspector General approves the deployments with immediate effect” a confidential circular dated January 14 and sent to all eight Regional Police Commanders, the Internal affairs Unit and heads of formation stated.

Among those affected include Karen SCPC, Cunnigham Suiyanka who has been moved to Turkana West (Kakuma), Muhoroni’s Adan Abdullahi Alio who has been transferred to Mwea West and Meru’s Joseph Gichangi who moves Machakos County to command police operations.

Herman Chemonges Ndiema has been moved from SCPC Kuresoi and will now be in charge of operations in Trans Nzoia County.

Some of the senior officers who have been promoted to serve as Deputy County Commanders, D/CPC include: Peter Katam (Kakamega), Stephen Weda (Bomet), Joseph Kipngeno Cheruiyot (Busia), Richard Cheruiyot (Vihiga), Peter Nyangares Omanwa (Migori), Wambia Odhiambo (Nyamira), and Benjamin Mwanzia (Kajiado),

More on News