Mombasa back in headlines, tops list of 188 latest cases

Monday, September 14th, 2020 09:00 |
Health Cabinet Secretary Mutahi Kagwe. PD/File

Mombasa recorded the highest number of the 188 new coronavirus cases reported yesterday, raising the national tally to 36,157.

Health Cabinet Secretary Mutahi Kagwe said 296 people recovered from the disease, with 28 patients from Home-Based Care Programme and 268 discharged from  hospitals.

Total recoveries now stand at 23,067 while the total samples stand at 497,652.

“From the total cases, five are foreigners. 149 are males and 39 females. The youngest is a two-year-old child, while the oldest is 78,” said Kagwe in a statement yesterday.

Distribution of the cases by counties showed that Mombasa had the highest with 43 followed by Turkana with 29, Trans Nzoia had 27 while Nairobi and Kiambu had 23 and 10 cases, respectively.

Nakuru and Kajiado had seven cases each, Uasin Gishu, Kilifi and Embu had 5, Kisumu, Kericho and Taita Taveta had four cases each, Kitui, Nyeri, Laikipia and Meru had two cases respectively.

Other cases were reported in Narok, Machakos, Lamu, Samburu, Tharaka Nithi, Garissa and Kakamega.

Three succumbed

However, three patients succumbed to the disease bringing our fatality to 622.

In terms of sub-county distribution, the 43 cases in Mombasa were from Kisauni Mvita, Changamwe, Jomvu, Nyali and Likoni.

In Turkana, all the 29 cases were from Turkana Central.

In Trans Nzoia, the 27 cases are from Saboti, Kiminini and Endebes.

In Nairobi, the 23 cases were from Dagoretti North, Kibra and Langata, Embakasi Central, Westlands, Dagoretti South, Embakasi North, Embakasi South, Embakasi West, Kamukunji, Kasarani, Makadara, Ruaraka and Starehe.

In Kiambu, the 10 cases were distributed in Thika, Kiambu Town, Lari and Ruiru while those in Nakuru were from Naivasha and Nakuru West.

Seven cases were from Kajiado while in Uasin Gishu, the five cases were from Ainabkoi, Kesses, Moiben and Turbo.

In Kilifi, the five cases were from Kilifi South, Kaloleni and Kilifi North while all the five cases in Embu were from Manyatta.

 In Kisumu, the four cases are from Kisumu Central, which had three cases and Kisumu East had one.

The four cases in Kericho were from and Ainamoi while the four cases in Taita Taveta, are from Taveta and Voi.

For Kitui, the two cases were drawn from Kitui Central and Kitui West with one case each.

In Nyeri, the two cases reported were from Nyeri Central, the two cases in Laikipia, are all from Laikipia North and the two cases in Meru are from lgembe South and Imenti North with one case each.

Others cases were reported in Narok East, Machakos Town, Lamu West, Samburu Central, Chuka, Garissa Town and Malava.

More on News