Kisumu water and sanitation facilities to get Sh7.5b face lift

Tuesday, October 5th, 2021 00:00 |
Kisumu Deputy Governor Mathew Owili.

The national government, through Lake Victoria South Water Works Development Agency (LVSWWDA), has endorsed the implementation of water and sanitation projects in Kisumu County at the cost of Sh7.5 billion.

Besides the government, the projects are being financed by the French Development Agency, European Investment Bank and the European Union’s Africa Infrastructure Trust Fund.  

The venture, dubbed Lake Victoria Water and Sanitation Programme, aims to rehabilitate, extend and expand water and sanitation facilities to meet the needs of the county’s growing population.

Wastewater treatment

Among the sewerage facilities to be improved include Kisat and Nyalenda wastewater stabilisation ponds.

Under the programme, Dunga water intake facility will be rehabilitated and upgraded at a cost of at the Sh900 million.

The project programme will also involve the construction of a new sewer in Otonglo, Kisumu West sub-county. 

The facility is expected to treat 4,000 cubic metres of wastewater per day.

Kisumu Deputy Governor Mathew Owili lauded the projects, saying it would help in mitigating the perennial water shortages in the lakeside city. 

Speaking at his office, Owili (pictured) said the ongoing works seek to address rising population challenges in the town.

He reaffirmed the county’s commitment to provide land and a conducive environment to ensure smooth implementation of the projects. 

Construction works are expected to be rolled out at the beginning of 2022 and are to be implemented over a period of five years.

“The projects will be a big game changer in water and sanitation services access in Kisumu,” said LVSWWDA CEO Chrispine Omondi.

Over 110km of water supply distribution network will be constructed, covering Kanyamedha, Otonglo, Airport, Korando, Ukweli and Kiboswa areas to achieve 90 per cent water coverage. 

 Additional 107 kilometers water supply and distribution network will be established at the satellite towns of Maseno, Kiboswa and Ahero.      –KNA

More on News