I am stronger than ever before, Murkomen says after his ouster

Monday, May 11th, 2020 15:08 |
Elgeyo Marakwet Senator Kipchumba Murkomen PHOTO/COURTESY

Hours after he was ousted as Majority Leader in the Senate, Elgeyo Marakwet Senator Kipchumba Murkomen said he was stronger than before.

"I thank all my friends for the overwhelming love and support. I am stronger than ever before. I will be coming back to you later with more updates. One love," Murkomen said on his Twitter account.

The fate of DP Ruto’s allies was sealed by 20 senators who attended a Jubilee Parliamentary Group meeting that brought together Senators from Jubilee Party and the Kenya African National Union (KANU).

At the meeting a resolution was passed to replace stubborn Majority leader Senator Kipchumba Murkomen and his majority whip Senator Susan Kihika.

The two have been ardent critics of President Kenyatta after the historic March 9th handshake with is political nemesis ODM leader Raila Odinga.

In the new line up, West Pokot Senator Samuel Poghisio (KANU) is the new Senate Majority Leader and will be deputized by Isiolo’s Fatuma Dullo.

Senator Dullo is elected on a Party for Democracy and Reform (PDR) which signed a post-election agreement with Jubilee Party in 2017.

Muranga Senator Irungu Kang’ata (JP) is the new Majority Whip replacing Nakuru Senator Susan Kihika.

While nominated Senator Haji Farhiya Ali (JP) takes Kang’ata’s position as Deputy Whip.

Senators Kang’ata and Farhiya are ardent members of the Kieleweke group of the Jubilee Party that fashions itself as fierce defenders of the March 9th handshake between President and ODM Leader Raila Odinga.

In a statement sent to newsroom by State House Spokesperson Kanze Dena indicated that Senator Poghisio was proposed as Senate Majority Leader by his Nyandarua counterpart Paul Githiomi and seconded by Senator Farhiya.

“He was approved unanimously by all members,” Said Dena.
While Senator Kang’ata was proposed as Senate Majority whip by his Wajir counterpart Senator Ali Abdulahi and seconded by nominated Senator Isaac Mwaura.

Kanze said Kang’ata was also unanimously approved by all members.

Farhiya, the new deputy whip was proposed by his nominated counterpart Senator Halake Abshiro and also seconded by Senator Beth Mugo who also a nominated senator.

Similarly, Farhiya was approved unanimously by all members.
However, the state House spokesperson disclosed that members permitted solidly to retain Senator Fatuma Dullo (Isiolo) as the Deputy Majority Leader.

More on Politics & Analysis