FKF folds transition committee and unveils a new group to run premier league

Thursday, November 19th, 2020 01:03 |
Members of the now folded transition committee: Tusker FC’s Daniel Aduda (left), Robert Maoga of Kariobangi Sharks (centre) and Ulinzi chairman Eric Oloo. Photo/PD/RODGERS NDEGWA

Football Kenya Federation yesterday folded the FKF Premier League transition committee and formed a new Premier League Management Committee (PMC) to run the top tier from next week when action begins.

According to a communique from the federation’s Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Barry Otieno yesterday, KCB chairperson Azu Ogola will be the chairperson of the seven-member committee that has AFC Leopards Dan Shikanda, Robert Maoga of Kariobangi Sharks, Laban Jobita of Western Stima, John Terry of Posta Rangers, Dennis Gicheru of Wazito and Sofapaka’s Elly Kalekwa.

Initially it was expected that the transition committee that was mandated to oversee the transition of the top tier from Kenyan Premier League (KPL) to the new entity led by Ulinzi chairperson Eric Oloo would have automatically proceeded to run the new league formation, but it seems there are some friction and resistance from a section of clubs about a number of issues on the running of the new league after previous league organisers KPL’s tenure ended on September 24.

It is believed that Oloo and other selected premier league club bosses including Bob Munro of Mathare United, Ambrose Rachier of Gor Mahia, Cleophas Shimanyula of Kakamega Homeboys and Ken Ochieng of Zoo FC have reservations on the fact that they were not involved directly to decisions made by the federation on their behalf.

However, Otieno said the decision to form the PMC had been necessitated by the need to maintain the league’s independence and safeguarding the interests of all participating clubs.

FKF boss Nick Mwendwa at the weekend told People Sport that he would be getting money from sponsors today and will give each teams that would have signed an undertaking with the new league organisers, Sh 2 million and categorically said that he will not consider those who will not have signed the undertaking

“FKF National Executive Committee (NEC) has passed a resolution to establish the Premier League Management Committee (PMC), to oversee the running of the FKF Premier League,” said Otieno.

He added: “David Thiru has been appointed the FKF PL manager and will be tasked with overseeing the league’s operations. 

More on Sports