FKF board releases venues for county elections

Wednesday, November 13th, 2019 05:10 |
FKF Electoral Board Chairman Edwin Wamukoya during a recent press conference. PD/ RODGERS NDEGWA

Football Kenya Federation’s Electoral Board has officially announced the venues for the upcoming county elections set to be held in 18 counties across the country.

The elections will see delegates drawn from clubs across the 18 counties pick six candidates per branch to lead their football development agenda.

Dates for the elections have been set on November 23 ahead of the national exercise on December 7. Key among the 18 venues  is Nairobi Stima Club for the Nairobi East branch elections.

In Nairobi West, delegates will cast their votes at Nyayo National Stadium while in Mombasa the exercise will be held at Shanzu Teachers Training College.

Kakamega elections will be at Kakamega Hill School while Nakuru will conduct theirs at Nakuru Christain Outreach Church.

The board, chaired by Prof Edwin Wamukoya, is conducting voter verification, following its publication of the voter register last week.

It has further opened a three-day window, between November 13, and November 15, 2019, in which disputes relating to the voter register will be heard. The board has already cleared 355 candidates with more than half of the number having no competitors.

Among those who have received walkovers are all the nine NEC members representing Central, Nairobi, Nyanza, Eastern, North Eastern, Western, Coast, Upper Rift Valley, and Lower Rift Valley regions. They are all said to be part of Mwendwa’s Team Blue line-up.

Those not satisfied with the board’s decisions can further seek recourse at the FKF Appeals Committee, if need be, between November 18, and November 20, 2019.

The final list of eligible voters will be published on November 21.

More on Football