DP henchmen kicked out in Senate purge as Uhuru loyalists are rewarded

Wednesday, May 27th, 2020 00:00 |
Senate Majority Whip Irungu Kang’ata addresses the media . Photo/PD/John Ochieng

Hillary Mageka @hillarymageka

The purge in the Senate against Deputy President William Ruto’s allies continued yesterday as Jubilee Party announced new leadership changes.

In the changes announced by the new Senate Majority Whip Irungu Kang’ata, the DP’s henchmen holding key House positions have been replaced by President Uhuru Kenyatta’s allies.

Bomet Senator Christopher Lang’at has been replaced at the powerful Senate Business Committee by Nairobi Senator Johnson Sakaja.

Lang‘at also lost his position as Education Committee chairman after he was replaced with another Uhuru loyalist nominated Senator Alice Milgo.

Nandi Senator Samson Cherargei and Laikipia Senator John Kinyua also lost the chairmanship of the Justice and Legal Affairs Committee (JLAC) and Devolution Committee, respectively.

Kinyua has been moved to ICT Committee to replace West Pokot Senator Samuel Poghisio who vacated the seat after being named Senate Majority Leader.

Consolation posts

The West Pokot lawmaker has relinquished his slot to Meru Senator Mithika Linturi, who also lost his membership at the powerful Senate County Public Accounts and Investment Committee and Justice and Legal Affairs committee.

At JLAC, Lithuri will be replaced by Isiolo Senate Fatuma Dullo.

Cherargei moves to the Committee on Powers and Privileges to replace Kang’ata, who ceded his position after his elevation.

However, it was a consolation for Tharaka Senator Kindiki Kithure and his Elgeyo Marakwet counterpart Kipchumba Murkomen who lost their positions as Deputy Speaker and Leader of Majority respectively after they were assigned committees.

Kindiki, a lawyer, has been picked to join the Justice and Legal Affairs Committee while Murkomen joins the  Devolution and Intergovernmental committee, previously chaired by Kinyua.

“The effect of this will be that Senator Kinyua will cease being the chairman of Devolution Committee, Linturi will cease to be a member of CPAIC and a vice-chairman of JLAC.

“Senator Lang’at will also cease to be chair of Education Committee and Senator Cherargei will cease to be the chair of JLAC,” said Kang’ata.

More on National