COVID-19: Govt classifies 13 counties as hotspot zone, declares new measures

Thursday, June 17th, 2021 17:57 |
COVID-19: Govt classifies 13 counties as hotspot zone, declares new measures
Health CS Mutahi Kagwe. MOH Acting DG Dr.Patrick Amoth and Govt Spokesperson Col Cyrus Oguna.
COVID-19: Govt classifies 13 counties as hotspot zone, declares new measures

The Ministry of Health (MOH) has announced a raft of new measures to break the cycle of Covid-19 infections spreading in 13 counties.

In a statement issued on Thursday, June 17, MOh said the last fourteen days’ has seen Covid-19 infections in the Counties of Busia, Vihiga, Kisii, Nyamira, Kakamega, Bungoma, Kericho, Bomet, Trans
Nzoia, Kisumu, Siaya, Homa-Bay and Migori constitude 60 per cent of the national case load.

While declaring the 13 counties as hotspot zones, MOH further stated that the positivity rate in the zoned out areas stood at an avarage of 21% while that of the country was at 9%.

"Following consultations with the Council of Governors, and with the concurrence of the National Emergency Response Committee on Covid-19; in exercise of the authority vested on the Cabinet Secretary for Health by the Public Health Act, the continuing containment measures are
hereby reviewed," MOH said.

That effective 18th June 2021:

1. The curfew within the hotspot zone shall be observed between 07:00 p.m. and 4:00 a.m. daily;

2. Except for essential and emergency services, movement
between the hotspot Zone and the rest of the country is strongly discouraged;

3. All cross-border cargo drivers shall be required to possess a valid certificate indicating a negative COVID-19 test that was conducted no more than 48 hours before commencing their journey, and each cargo truck shall be limited to only 2
persons per vehicle;

4. That, weekly non-food and livestock markets are hereby
suspended in the Hotspot Zone for a period of 30 days;

5. All public gatherings and in-person meetings of whatever nature are prohibited within the Hotspot Zone, including house parties and sporting activities;

6. All funerals and interment ceremonies within the Hotspot Zone shall be conducted within 72 hours of confirmation of death;

7. Night Vigils and overnight processions prior to funerals are prohibited within the Hotspot Zone until further notice;

8. That the attendees for funerals within the Hotspot Zone are capped to a maximum of 50 persons until further notice;

9. That the attendees, officiators, and facilitators of weddings, celebrations of marriage or traditional unions, ceremonies of rites of passage, and all other similar events or ceremonies is maintained at 30 persons in total until further notice;

10. All forms of physical/congressional worship (churches, mosques, temples and shrines) in the hotspot counties are suspended for a period of 30 days;

11. All employers including the public and private sector, government offices, businesses and companies in the Hotspot Zone are advised to allow employees to work from home, with the exception of employees working in critical or essential services;

12. In accordance with the Public Order No.3 of 2021, all hospitals within the Hotspot Zone are directed to limit the number of visitors for hospitalized patients to one (1) visitor per patient per time until further notice; and

13. For the avoidance of doubt, the hours of the ongoing
nationwide curfew shall continue to be observed in the rest of
the country, from 10:00 p.m. and 4:00 a.m. daily

More on News