CJ Koome calls on Uhuru to appoint six remaining judges

Friday, June 4th, 2021 22:16 |
David Maraga shows confidence in Koome
Chief Justice Martha Koome.

Chief Justice Martha Koome has called on President Uhuru Kenyatta to appoint the six judges he rejected in a Gazette notice dated June 3, 2021.

In a press statement on Friday after witnessing the swearing-in of the 34 appointed judges, CJ Koome said she did not participate in any way during the selection and recommendation of the 41 judges to the President for promotion.

"Many people have questioned my role in this process since I assumed office only two weeks ago. I wish to state that I had no part to play in this Constitutional process which was undertaken almost two years ago. Upon forwarding the names to H.E the President, the Chief Justice and the JSC became functus officio (ceased to have any role)," she said.

She added: "We call upon H.E. the President to similarly appoint the remaining 6 judges because the Judiciary is still in dire need as the backlog of cases is increasing.

"We should find a lasting solution so that moving forward, this kind of delay and misunderstanding will be a thing of the past. Respect for the rule of law and the independence of the Judiciary is guaranteed under the Constitution. No person or authority is allowed to direct the JSC or the Judiciary in the execution of their mandate."

Judges George Odunga, Weldon Korir, Aggrey Muchelule, Evans Kiago, Judith Omange and Joel Ngugi were left out in a list published in a special issue of the Kenya Gazette on Thursday.

Justices Ngugi and Odunga were among five judges who on May 13, 2021, declared the Building Bridges Initiative (BBI), a product of the Handshake between the President and opposition leader Raila Odinga, “unconstitutional, null and void”.

More on News