Candidates woo voters ahead of Rurii mini-polls

Monday, May 17th, 2021 00:00 |
Nyandarua Governor Francis Kimemia (right) presents a title deed to a Rurii Ward resident as County Commissioner Benson Leparmorijo looks on. He also campaigned for the Rurii ward MCA Jubilee candidate Peter Thinji. Photo/PD/DAVID MACHARIA

David Macharia and Clement Kamau 

Jubilee and United Democratic Alliance (UDA) were yesterday engaged in last minute push to woo their supporters to back their candidates in tomorrow’s (Tuesday) mini polls.

Leaders from Jubilee and UDA in Nyandarua’s Rurii Ward called on their supporters to come out in large numbers and vote for their candidates.

In Nyandarua’s Rurii ward by-election, candidates for the two parties, Peter Thinji (Jubilee) and Francis Muraya (UDA) were putting their final efforts bid to woo voters to vote for them. 

Apart from the duo, the other candidates running in the by election are; Susan Wangeci Wamunga of The New Democrats (TND), Peter Gathika of Democratic Party (DP), Gabriel Gitome (Independent) and Isaac Nderi Ndegwa of Maendeleo Chap Chap.  Ndegwa was personal assistant to the late MCA.

Door to door campaigns

Rurii Ward, which is one of the five wards in Ol Kalou constituency, has 14,165 registered voters. The seat fell vacant after death of John Mburu Wamaria in January.

Candidates have been conducting door to door campaigns because of the Covid-19 restrictions but the leaders claimed the use of police officers was aimed at intimidating people from voting for UDA candidate.

In Muguga Ward, Kiambu county whose by-election is slated to take place on July 15, Kamau Thumbi emerged the winner after garnering 1,148 votes with Paul Karari being a distant second with 419 votes during UDA primaries.

Thumbi will now fight it out for the seat with the Jubilee Party nominee, who will be named after the ruling party conduct it’s nominations on Saturday next week.

Ten aspirants will take part among them being former MCA Francis Waithaka, Joyce Wanja, Francis Malinga, Joseph Mungara, Jacob Munyua, James Mwaura, Joseph Gacheru, Francis Njuguna, Wilfred Thuku and Andrew Murugami.  

The seat fell vacant following the death of area MCA Eliud Ngugi in March because of Covid-19 related complications. 

More on News