Branch elections will not be repeated, FKF’s Mwendwa now states

Friday, June 5th, 2020 00:02 |
FKF president Nick Mwendwa (centre) with CEO Barry Otieno (right) and Head of Projects Michael Kamure during a press conference at the Goal Project on Wednesday. Photo/PD/WEBSTER NYANDIKA

Football Kenya Federation (FKF) will not carry out fresh branch elections and officials elected during the March 14 exercise are bound to serve their respective branches, now referred to as Counties, for the next four years.

The declaration was made  yesterday by federation boss Nick Mwendwa who claimed that going by the Sports Disputes Tribunal ruling on March 17, there was nowhere the issue of branch elections arose as well as  mention of repeat polls.

He said FKF had spent an average of Sh 40 million in the two branch elections and that there would be no funds to hold a third branch elections exercise.

“SDT in their March ruling said that we had carried out one of the best organised branch elections and they were only concerned about public participation in the national polls.

The two exercises has cost the federation an average of Sh 40 million and aspirants used a lot of money in campaigns, so we are putting the matter to rest and shift focus on the national polls that we issue a road map about after getting directives from Fifa,” Mwendwa told People Sport.

A section of football stakeholders had protested the fact that the polls were starting from the branch level instead of begin the exercise from the sub-branch level going upwards and demanded the stopping of branch polls at the tribunal.

Branch elections

Mwendwa had claimed that conducting the sub-branch polls and abiding to demands by the Sports Registrar would take a longer time as the country had more than 6,000 teams and very few had been registered with the body.

In the March 14 branch elections, the exercise was held in nine out of the 45 counties that had eligible clubs, as other counties saw officials go in unopposed.

In the nine counties, Abdullahi Salat (Garissa), Caleb Malweyi (Nairobi West), Hamisi Mwakoja (Kwale), and Luthers Mokua were among the winners in the chairperson position.

There were ties in Kisii and Nyeri counties, and as such, repeat elections are set to be held at a date set to be announced by the Board after the end of the coronavirus pandemic.

More on News