Ahmed Ali sworn in as Wajir Governor to replace impeached Abdi Mahamud

Tuesday, May 18th, 2021 12:58 |
Ahmed Ali Muktar. PHOTO/COURTESY

Wajir Deputy governor Ahmed Ali Muktar has been sworn in as the county's third governor.

Muktar officially takes over the mantle from embattled Mohammed Abdi Mahamud who was impeached on Monday by the Senate.

25 senators voted for the governor’s ouster after he was found guilty of gross violation of the Constitution. Two opposed the motion and four abstained.

Notably, Nyamira Senator Okong’o Omogeni, who chaired the special committee that investigated the governor, abstained from the vote.

Others who skipped the vote were senators Ochillo Ayacko, James Orengo and Mutula Kilonzo. Senators Samson Cherargei and Kipchumba Murkomen voted to save the governor.

“The net effect of the vote is that the Senate has resolved to remove from office by impeachment Hon. Mohamed Abdi Mohamud, Governor of Wajir County. The Governor accordingly ceases to hold office,” Senate Speaker Kenneth Lusaka ruled after the vote.

In a colorful ceremony held at the County Headquarters, Muktar took the oath of office amid jubilation from his supporters.

MPs and Wajir County MCAs chartered two flights from Wilson Airport to Wajir International Airport ahead of the swearing-in of the deputy governor.

The ceremony was attended by over 30 MCAs including Elnur/TulaTula Ward Abdullahi Rizak.

Political leaders including Wajir Senator Abdullahi Ali and his nominated counterpart Farhiya Ali who participated in the impeachment of Mahamud also graced the ceremony.

Others were Environment CAS Mohamed Elmi, Eldas MP and Jubilee Coalition Parliamentary Secretary Adan Keynan and MPs Ahmed Kolosh (Wajir West), Rashid Amin (Wajir East), Ahmed Bashane (Tarbaj), Ahmed Abidsalan (Wajir North), Prof Mohamed Mahamud (Wajir South) and Nominated MP Nasra Sahal.

Justice Said Chitembwe conducted the ceremony.

More on Politics & Analysis